The ultra-mega big trip

image

I  leave in less than a week. Where to you ask? Well, I’ve been in Idaho for a full year and 3 months and a while ago I planned to visit my friends and family in Wisconsin during September of 2016. I do miss them often, so this will be a quite memorable trip and one that may not be made too often in the future. I took 2 weeks off from work but I won’t be spending them all in the land of cheese. The first part of my trip is all the way to New Hampshire.  A friend of mine who was one of the people to adopt Olaf to me, now lives out that way. She kept bugging me that I should come check out that area, and finally I gave in. Im always up for any adventure that includes hiking!!…especially in places I’ve never been before. I also heard we are going kayaking, so i figure I’ll be plenty exhausted at the end of my vacation.

A huge portion of my trip will be consumed by…you guessed it…driving. I’m glad it’s mostly long stretches of flat interstate because I don’t have any time to sightsee. It’ll be 12-15 hour days of driving. I have a feeling I’ll be sick of it before too long, but it’s better than flying. Plus i won’t need to rely on anyone…just me and my van and the road. I’ll be using rest stops to sleep and  music to keep me awake. I don’t have many turns, so getting lost probably isn’t going to happen. Ive had my van inspected and repaired to no end to make sure it’s safe for travel. Thats actually my biggest worry…that it’ll break down…but it should be all set and I can only be prepared for the worst. I have to take what comes my way, which will be lots of bugs, wind, vehicles and highway lines. I can’t wait.

Friday night I take off like a bat out of hell towards Twin Falls, Idaho. I’m not sure if I’m staying near there or trying to make it to Logan, Utah. I might cut it short in Twin Falls so i can see where I’m going the following morning. Since I’ve driven to Twin, as we call it, many mant times, it won’t instill any fear or confusion in me in the dark. My vision has gotten worse in the dark, partially because I need a new prescription and also because I rarely drive or am awake in the dark anymore.

Saturday will be taking me from Utah, through Wyoming on I-80 and into Nebraska. Somewhere there i’ll stop for the night. Sunday i will be heading through Iowa, Illinois and Indiana…then stopping in Ohio hopefully for the night. The farther i get on these two days, the more time i’ll have to unwind on monday night when i arrive in Warner, New Hampshire. For the final leg of the trip, ill hit Pennsylvania and New York. Fortunately, New York will be traveled through in the mid region and not the busy, Metropolitan area. I think i’ll enjoy my time in New Hampshire because it’s not at all crowded like most of the eastern states. And i might even see the Atlantic Ocean again.

Wish me happy trails and safe travels, and I’ll update you when I’ve gone through the gauntlet. Sorry I haven’t posted in a long time.

image

Leave a comment